My Apple Crisp Recipe

Once again I have way too many apples that I have to use up before they go bad! here is a recipe that I have been using for years! In this recipe I am actually doubling it so don’t be alarmed by the pictures just follow the recipe and it will be correct.

First, peel your apples (about 6 good size apples) and core them. then slice them to size. this slicer is the ideal tool to have and use.

wpid-wp-1448047097870.jpg

Next, you are going to want to put them into a big bowl that has a lid and add to the bowl: 2 table spoons of white sugar, one table spoon cinnamon (I normally add 2TBS) and one tablespoon of nutmeg. Now for the fun part. A NORMAL person would mix the ingredients together with a SPOON…. But I have to keep my cooking fun… Put the lid on and shake the heck out of it! If you have a kid in the kitchen helping you out… This part is fun for them to do. BUT I always do this part! 🙂 shake shake shake!!!

Spoon the apples into a baking dish and set aside.

Next we get to make the yummy topping, this is my favorite part! We get to use our hands and get messy!

Next in a mixing bowl, measure out 3/4 cup oats, 3/4 cup brown sugar, 3/4 cup flower and 2 tbs cinnamon. Mix together till combined… I used my hands to make sure all the clumps of brown sugar are all dissolved and smooth.

wpid-wp-1448047135696.jpg

Then, add in 1/2 cup of COLD butter in clumps and mix with either a fork or with your hands and make sure that it is combined well… Do not mix with a blender or hand mixer…

wpid-wp-1448047260992.jpg

This is what it should look like when you are done mixing it. After you are done mixing it, you can then spread it on top of the apples that you set aside earlier.

wpid-wp-1448047143384.jpg

Bake at 350 for 40 min. and then enjoy warm with a nice scoop of vanilla ice scream on top! YUMMY!!!! my family is a fan! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

